Information Technology and me

adapt_or_die1

It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change”

Often mistakenly attributed to Charles Darwin and albeit a total departure from his theory of the evolution of the species, nevertheless adaptation to change is a requirement for survival in any environment. Like it or not, the world out there is becoming more and more digital, where one can do more with a cellphone today than with a roomful of calculators just a few decades ago, where a seven inch tablet can contain more books than the Great Library at Alexandria, where more information can be found literally at the tip of one’s finger than could be gleaned from a building full of books.

And in an industry where information is the key to every endeavour, information technology rules supreme.

Gone are the days when the tools of one’s trade could consist of simple analog devices like a pen and paper, books and folders, portfolios and briefs. The modern practitioner needs to have at his disposal every bit of information he can gather, ready for use when and as needed. And there is no tool that could deliver that than information technology and the gadgets it has spawned over the years.

My love affair with electronic gadgets started with one of those old digital 256KB organizers made by Casio, given to me by my father when I was in college. It could show me my daily schedule, my personal notes, make calculations, and tell me how many people I actually knew.

Casio  tanager

When I got a job and started earning, one of the first things I bought was a used Palm IIIx. It was a dinky clunky monochrome 4MB 16Mhz Dragonball powered device that kept erasing everything I put in it, but I loved it. That was later replaced by a beautiful sliding Palm Tungsten T3 with 64MB of RAM and a 400Mhz Intel CPU that had non volatile memory and kept my data even after a soft reset. Best of all, she had an infrared port and I was able to control any remote controlled device, causing me hours of amusement at the consternation of restaurant owners who kept wondering why their television sets had been possessed by the devil. When she finally gave up the ghost, a Palm T/X took her place.

Palm iiixTungsten220px-Palm_TX  220px-Treo700p

Since then, I have always had an electronic device with me at all times, finding them essential to my life and my work. My computers at home and at my office are all connected with my two tablets and cellphone and with those of my secretary and assistant, who, more often than not, receive instructions and transmit information through email, Viber, Whatsapp, Skype, Yahoo Messenger, and our internal secure communications system. Files and documents are shared via LAN and wifi for easier sharing and over Evernote and Google Keep for online collaboration, and shared over cloud services like Google Drive and Dropbox so I can access everything anywhere at any time.

Note 8Tab 10

Information technology allows me to make better use of my time, even when I am not at the office.
Leave a Reply

